Well, folks, it’s here! Pushing Chain’s self-titled release was delivered today, and we couldn’t be happier. The official release date is Tuesday, August 19. On that day it will be available through Amazon, iTunes, and all of the other digital platforms, as well as through retailers. Ask your local record store to stock it, and it shall be so! Until then, come out to a show and buy it directly from the horse’s mouth, so to speak. Stay tuned for more.


Pushing Chain was formed in 2012 by Boyd Blomberg and Adam Moe. The duo, which has been performing together in various manifestations since 1997, plays roots and Americana music featuring Boyd on guitar and vocals and Adam on the fiddle and vocals. Pushing Chain plays original songs, covers of classic artists like Bob Dylan, Tom Waits, and Nina Simone, and some fresh new takes on old folk songs. The duo also features tight harmonies and a gonzo approach which keeps performances fresh and exciting, even if you’ve seen them before.

That gonzo approach can lead to some interesting variations when there are other musicians in the crowd, and Pushing Chain isn’t afraid to invite others up to the stage. This has led to some great evenings featuring such friends as drummers J.T. Bates and Robin Anders, accordionist Radislav Lorkovic, mandolin player Chris Silver, and guitarists Jef Cerniak and Dean McGraw, along with many, many more. You never know who might show up for a Pushing Chain show!

Pushing Chain at the Big Top Chautauqua in 2012. Photo by Stephan Hoglund.